Design dimension for stirling engine...Need help!

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
kennethkye

Design dimension for stirling engine...Need help!

Post by kennethkye »

Hi I'm new in this forum.
I have a project which is to design and fabricate a beta-type solar stirling engine to generate electricity for a small bulb. However, I'm facing some difficulty in deciding the dimensions for each part of the engine for example the size of bore/stroke of the power and displacer pistons, swept and dead volume, length of connecting rod etc... This is my first time doing this type of designing question and I hope to get some advises and help from you guys. Can you guys share some of your experience and design with me. Really appreciate for your help. Thank you!

Regards
kennethkye
Ian S C

Re: Design dimension for stirling engine...Need help!

Post by Ian S C »

Hi, what sort of heat gathering are you thinking of using, parabolic reflector, large freznel lens? Solar can give you good heat, if you look in my gallery, you'll see my second engine, normally fuelled with LPG, gained a bit of power when heated with a freznel lens that was designed to be put in front of a TV screen.
Ian S C
kennethkye

Post by kennethkye »

Hi Ian, I'm planing to use parabolic reflector as the heat collector and the purpose is to power a small bulb. Actually I'm in the early stage of the designing process and I need to decide the dimensions of each part of my beta stirling engine before i can start to draw out my design on CAD. However, I have no clue on what should be the correct dimension ratio for each component of the engine so that the engine can be run after fabricated...could you please help me on this. Thanks!
Ian S C

Post by Ian S C »