Need help on Soda Can beta engine

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
sandy

Need help on Soda Can beta engine

Post by sandy »

I am new to Sterling world...I am student of 14 yrs and am making a project for school with my team mates
I tried to follow the website instructions and made it only to see it doesn't start....lack of narration and missing details make it difficult
We followed all the instructions....
Appreciate if one of you seniors can help us fix our problem......
Our problem :
1. even when the power piston rod is not connected, the balloon does not expand when heated....is it not supposed to ?
So we guess the hot air is not reaching the elbow or not hot enough to expand the diaphragm ......possibility of leak ?
2. The diaphragm vertical cable does not rotate the crank freely.....so there seems to be friction
We will post a video of what we made if required......
This is the second time we made the engine but no luck......I am not sure whether the piston moves when the air below is heated......
Also the end of coolling stroke, the piston with steel wool sppear to close the elbow port to power piston......
Attachments
IMG_20141123_220249.jpg
IMG_20141123_220249.jpg (64.74 KiB) Viewed 4797 times
sandy

Re: Need help on Soda Can beta engine

Post by sandy »

We straightened the cable from diaphragm and other other cable, no luck...
1) still figuring out why the balloon does not expand when heated.............is it because the steel wool piston diameter is close to diameter of lower can ?
If we reduce the piston dia, will it help push hot gas move to top and expand the balloon ?
2) The instruction says when crank is at top, piston to be top of lower can.......but this blocks the opening to the elbow..............??
Shouldn't the displacer piston be lower than the elbow opening all the time ??
We really appreciate your quick support as our project is stuck !!! SOS .....