Low temp difference beta help

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
joedog44

Low temp difference beta help

Post by joedog44 »

hello people.
First off like to say this forum is great. i'm a student like a lot of people on here asking questions, and the information here has been really helpful. For a pretty big project of mine i have to design a stirling engine to power a nightlight with a temperature difference of only 65 degrees. I've read a few of the standard suggested books, like James G Rizzos, Roy Darlingtons and a couple more technical ones. I Have a pretty good idea (theoretically only) of the standard design parameters etc but i'm struggling to get solid information on the diameter cylinder i should use. Thus far i've decided to make a beta type engine, and i've got a reasonable budget for materials and access to a fully kitted workshop with skilled technicians to lend a hand. If anyone could offer any advice, it would be much appreciated.
Cheers, joe
I
Aviator168

Re: Low temp difference beta help

Post by Aviator168 »

You should find out what the power requirement first. Most common LED diodes 20mA @ 2v, and that's 0.04w. Depending on the definition of nightlight. For some people, one is good enough. After you have the power requirement, you work your way backwards to get rpm, and torque, then on to how much heat you need and reject, and those should give you a good idea of the engine size.
joedog44

Post by joedog44 »

hi, thanks for your reply.
i've not got a set power requirement. The brief i've been giving just says a nightlight, speaking to my supervisor as long as it can light an led, that classes as a nightlight. I'm going to power it with a linear alternator running off the crank because i doubt i can make the torque to turn a generator with the limited temperature difference. What steps would you suggest to give me an indication of engine dimensions?
cheers, joe
Aviator168

Post by Aviator168 »