Low Temp Stirling Design - Low Weight?

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
toomey

Low Temp Stirling Design - Low Weight?

Post by toomey »

Hi all,

I haven't found any threads talking about this yet, but feel free to refer me there if I missed anything.

I'm a third-year engineering student building a stirling engine with a team.
The plan is to drain some small ponds with a stirling-powered pump.

The trick is that it has to weigh less than 25 lbs, and occupy less than 2x2 ft area. Do we want to build multiple small engines on a crankshaft, or would we get better power to weight from one big engine?
My thought was to start with a small gamma type engine and optimize it, then bolt a bunch of them in a row...

Also, are there any thoughts about the pump itself - should we design one to integrate with the engine or just buy one and bolt it on?

Thanks for your thoughts and your time,
Matt
Ian S C

Re: Low Temp Stirling Design - Low Weight?

Post by Ian S C »

You would need a very small pond, and a lot of patience, the Stirling Engine that I have with a water pump will pump 2L per minute (a bit over .5 gal US).
You would be best to build the motor first, and find out what sort of power you have, then have a look around at pumps, maybe a diaphragm type. Either buy or make, it may depend on what's available.
By low temperature, what do you mean, if it's 212*F or less, its going to take a bigger motor than 2' x 2' to pump b****r all. If you mean solar heat, that's not too low temp if well designed.
Ian S C
StirlingDragon

Post by StirlingDragon »

Hey, toomey's lab partner here.

We are designing this engine to pump out an artificial pond that often floods and has other debris (i.e. grass clippings and mulch). It's outdoors, so using solar energy for the heat source would be really impressive, but probably inconsistent given our track record with overcast days.