How to scale up a LTD Stirling engine?

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
Rogetit

How to scale up a LTD Stirling engine?

Post by Rogetit »

I am new to Stirling engine. I would be very glad if anyone could help me with my questions.

I have a project that have 70-80oC hot water as waste heat. I am trying to use the waste heat to generate electricity, target at getting ~1kW electrical power. I have looked into thermoelectric generator but the cost is too high and efficiency is too low at low temperature differential. The efficiency of LTD Stirling engine (in theory) seems much better in comparison.

For industrial application, I only found one LTD Stirling engine available, which is Sunpulse 500, but they have not responded to my request, probably because I haven't write my request in German. So, I am thinking of building my own LTD Stirling engine.

I have found a LTD Stirling engine design including dimensions from an article: http://gistworldconpro.com/uploads/4/3/ ... obitra.pdf. Their engine's efficiency looks promising. However, the article does not report the load of the LTD Stirling engine, but judging from its size I believe it needs to be scaled up for my target power output. I know that to have one large LTD Stirling engine may be impractical. I don’t mind to have 4 or 10 engines combined to give ~1kW output in total, but I don’t want to have like 50 engines either.

My questions are:
1. Is a temperature differential of 40-50oC useful to generate electricity using? From literature and maths, it should still give 5-8% heat to electrical efficiency, which is Ok for my application.
2. How to scale up a LTD Stirling engine? Should I just scale up every dimensions?

Roger
Wellington

Re: How to scale up a LTD Stirling engine?

Post by Wellington »

You might find the answers you seek in my post here: http://stirlingengineforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=2077
.Wellington.
Rogetit

Post by Rogetit »

Wellington, thanks for the information.