1st post, Never built anything before, have a few questions on Stirling LTD engines

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
DrJekyll

1st post, Never built anything before, have a few questions on Stirling LTD engines

Post by DrJekyll »

Hello, I am happy that I have finally found a sterling engine forum with what appears to be an active community since the other forums I have seen have no activity.

So I have no engineering experience and never built anything ever but I have this urge to build a LTD stirling engine and have found that I am fascinated by it but I want to understand it better before I build it. I have not been able to find the answers to my questions which may mean my questions have easy answers but I am not an engineer lol. All my questions deal with a LTD Stirling engine with this shape :
(http://www.grand-illusions.com/acatalog ... gine_1.jpg)

Questions

I see that the majority of these LTD stirling engines with a base that is a circle in shape are small and run off the heat of someones hand. Now from my understanding so far, the gas that is used to push the displacer up and down that runs off of a temp. difference is either oxygen, air or helium gas.

1) from those 3 gasses which is the best gas that would require the least amount of temp. difference to push the displacer the most efficiently ?

2) has anyone tried any other gas that perhaps has a lower boiling point ?

3) how does someone get that gas inside and seal it in the casing the displacer is in ?

4) why do people say graphite is the best displacer material ?