hot Air Beam Engine with cooling and generator

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
Trevor

hot Air Beam Engine with cooling and generator

Post by Trevor »

This is my first attempt at making a Beam Engine. This engine will be using the Watt linkage for the displacer.
The engine is based on a displacer of 74mm and a stroke of 38mm. The piston is 38mm and will have a stroke of 64mm being a ratio of approx. 2.5 to 1.
The water pump is driven by an air operated diaphragm from the displacer chamber, which has a diaphragm of 25mm and uses about 4cc of air which is calibrated as part of the piston volume
Here is a few pics of how I am going with so far. Trevor
Attachments
Water Jacket & Displacer.jpg
Water Jacket & Displacer.jpg (91.26 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Water Jacket & Displacer Cylinder.jpg
Water Jacket & Displacer Cylinder.jpg (81.96 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Top of Displacer Cylinder showing seal and Piston Connection.jpg
Top of Displacer Cylinder showing seal and Piston Connection.jpg (99.58 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Top Altogether with Air Pump Fitted.jpg
Top Altogether with Air Pump Fitted.jpg (91.74 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Here I used ordinary solder for the water Jacket and Displacer using a special flux for stainless to stainless.
Here I used ordinary solder for the water Jacket and Displacer using a special flux for stainless to stainless.
Soldering of Water Chamber to Displacer Cylinder.jpg (95.12 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Piston Housing - Steel & Brass.jpg
Piston Housing - Steel & Brass.jpg (74.66 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Piston Finished with Groves.jpg
Piston Finished with Groves.jpg (75.64 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Diplacer as used from Last Engine 74mm Diameter.jpg
Diplacer as used from Last Engine 74mm Diameter.jpg (123.67 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Assembly fitted to Base BOard Awaiting the Centre Post.jpg
Assembly fitted to Base BOard Awaiting the Centre Post.jpg (73.86 KiB) Viewed 7900 times
Air Diaphragm Water Pump.jpg