IT RUNS!!

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
dalekh

IT RUNS!!

Post by dalekh »

My first effort. I followed the "Tin Can" plans quite closely. The power cylinder is cut from a 12" copper repair coupling from ACE Hardware. (id is 7/8") The piston is epoxy. Everything else is pretty close to plans. A one ounce lead weight appropriately placed on the "walking beam" keeps it pretty smooth. With a single tea candle it runs 60-75 rpm.

Pretty cool and I'm jazzed that the darned thing runs!! Thanks, Darrell. With only an inexpensive drill press and your plans my first effort is a huge success.

Now I have all kinds of ideas about the next step - better bearings, better power piston/cylinder, etc.

Dale.

I'm not experienced at uploading stuff - so hope my video is attached.
dalekh

Re: IT RUNS!!

Post by dalekh »

Ok, turns out my video is too large. Wow, only 16 sec. long and still too large. So here's a picture instead. Alright, I give. the picture is too big also. I'm not going to mess with resizing it tonight - probably very simple but it's late.
dalekh

Post by dalekh »

Well, I went ahead and created a YouTube account so I could share my engine with you. The link is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61Gtlm-GXEw

I hope this works. Since recording this video I have added a drain to allow me to empty the water jacket without turning it upside down!

Dale.
Cartech

Post by Cartech »

Well done. Nothing quite like that moment when it runs on it's own power the first time.
dalekh

Post by dalekh »

Hey, thanks for acknowledging. I don't know if you checked out my video or not. I put another video up. I built a second displacer/power cylinder and attached it to the same flywheel and beam. I increased the diameter of the displacer piston so that the clearance is less than 1/8" all around. It's not quite scientific because there are some other differences but the RPM's more than doubled to about 175.