My first stirling project. Is everything ok?

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
Stirling_rookie

My first stirling project. Is everything ok?

Post by Stirling_rookie »

Hello im a mechanical engineering student and im building a model stirling engine for my 2nd year project. I am now at the stage of starting the fabrication of my engine but before I start I thought it would be a good idea to put my design on this forum and get some feedback on my design by more experienced engine builders.

the engine im building is for educational purposes only so it only requires enough power to keep itself running. I decided to go for the gamma configuration. the displacer piston has a OD of 30mm and is 65mm long, the displacer cylinder has an ID of 34mm (which leaves a 2mm clearance between it and the displacer piston) and is 100mm long, the power piston has an OD of 25mm and both pistons have a 25mm stroke which gives a displacer/power pistion swept volume ratio of 1.43:1.(Is this okay?). All the moving parts will be running in bearings and will be acurately machined.

I'd like to hear some feedback on this engine before I start the build and constructive critcisim is very welcome, thanks.
Attachments
Drawing is not to scale
Drawing is not to scale
stirling cut away.png (222.56 KiB) Viewed 7236 times
speedless

Re: My first stirling project. Is everything ok?

Post by speedless »

Hi
Looks like a nice setup.
If its oriented like the drawing,you will have to heat it from above! How ?
If its lying down you have to compensate for more mecanical resistence from piston;you will need more heat.
When the power piston is vertical,it can be aligned to allmost float in the cyl.This is essential if you want to make a (very)LTD.
I will suggest you make the diplacer-piston 2mm smaller Ø,there will be less air resistence inside the displacer-cyl.