Absolute Newbissimo question.

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
Mr.Zeph

Absolute Newbissimo question.

Post by Mr.Zeph »

Hi all!

I'm considering creating a stirling engine for (at the moment) the single purpose of driving a fan in a solar heater as seen in this youtube video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRZvAAqzXIw

My understanding is that the Stirling operates by temperature differentials: one side hot, the other side cool, the larger the discrepancy, the faster the engine runs (more or less).

I live in a very cold climate, and so, with a solar heater easily running above 100 degrees F (37C+), my question is whether I can "embed" this stirling engine into the casing of the solar heater, if I were to have some sort of heat-sink that protrudes from the back of the box. Hot inside, bloody cold outside should allow for the temp differential.

The questions really boil down to:

* Is this feasable?
* Would the high internal temperature likely destroy my little engine? I'm not a machinst, so I'd most likely be working with tin cans and such.
* Would the engine generate enough power to either draw in cool air, or push out the hot air? (I haven't calculated the volume of air yet (let us assume that 48 inches, by 36 inches by 10 inches deep will yield 17280 cubic inches, more or less).

If this is reasonably do-able, I think I'll start over the weekend, if not, you're saving me a lot of time, the fun can wait until a bit later :)

Thanks
PKM

Re: Absolute Newbissimo question.

Post by PKM »

Hi Zeph,

I think the answers to your questions boil down to yes, no, probably not much. A stirling engine runs on a temperature difference- the bigger that difference, the more power the engine can get. Simple tin-can engines are inefficient and need a high temperature difference, and it's a lot easier to raise the temp of the hot end 100 degrees with a flame than cool the cold end that much.