Newbie builds a "Beamer"

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
bob

Newbie builds a "Beamer"

Post by bob »

Hi,

I'm new to engine building. I just completed building my first, a "Beamer" designed by Jerry Howell. Is anyone here familiar with that engine?

The Beamer is a small model gamma engine with a graphite piston 0.6" dia running in a brass cylinder and a hollow 1" diameter aluminum displacer in an finned aluminum cylinder with insulated stainless steel hot cap. Jerry recommended running it from a small alcohol lamp or miniature propane flame.
http://www.jerry-howell.com/Beamer.html

Here's my observations so far.

First, Jerry's plans are excellent, detailed, and accurate. My building isn't, but that's what makes life interesting. :-) I had to adjust some hole locations due to my poor drilling techniques and other things like that, but basically I followed the plans. After enough fixing and tweaking, I was able to complete the engine and have it operate smoothly.

With my fingers, it operated without binding. There was the expected compression feel at certain points in rotation, so I think that I got the piston fairly tight.

I first tested the engine with an alcohol lamp and a fairly big flame. The flame engulfed the whole 1.2" OD hot cap, so I think that the flame is larger than appropriate. With enough warm-up time, I could spin the flywheel and it would keep going. Then I put the belt (rubber band) on to drive the fan and phony governor, and it wouldn't keep going. I was able to drive the phony governor alone, so it seems that the fan plus governor load is more than this tiny engine can handle.

The phony governor is just a pair of light-weight flying balls for show. It doesn't really have any governing function. The fan is intended to blow cool air on the cool part of the cylinder. It's five blades, roughly 2" diameter, on two small ball bearings. I wouldn't expect that it would put much load on the engine.