If I build it, will they come? Hehe.

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
William42

If I build it, will they come? Hehe.

Post by William42 »

Hi all,
I'm new to the Stirling Engine and am fasinated by it so would like to build one.

Firstly, I am no math expert. In fact, I don't understand all the fancy equations and all the goesinta's related to same. But, I can understand a well written sentence so if you're willing to spend a little time answering some questions for me, and can keep the answers without too much fancy terminolgy, well, I could probably understand what you mean.

The machine I wish to build is a single cylinder design with both the displacer and the piston in that cylinder. That is a Beta correct?

So, I've done much research on the machine and I think I have the therory of operation down but I don't understand the math involved. That is, there is a displacer and a piston but I don't know what the relationship should be between them for it's most efficient operation.

And now the math. For simplicity, let's say the cylinder is 1 foot long and 2 inches in diameter. How long then should the displacer and the piston be? What is the relationship between the two for opimal performance? I mean, if I have "x" amount of air volume within the cylinder, how much of that air needs to be compressed, and by how much? I would think that if the pistons' stroke is too long the pressure created by the piston would be too great for the system to overcome it and it wouldn't run. On the contrary, if the pistons' stroke is too short, there wouldn't be any real power created. There must be an easily understandable formula (for a non math expert) to understand.

I know there is much more to understand about this engine but before I select the cylinder size, I need to know how big to make the Piston and the Displacer and their relationship to each other. Thanks in advance for any insight into my query.
Bill
Ian S C