My contribution to the ECE

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
VincentG

My contribution to the ECE

Post by VincentG »

Hello all and thank you for providing this forum for us to discuss these fascinating engines. I have been lurking for quite a while here, gathering information as I can. I am a full time auto mechanic and hobby machinist. I believe the time will come when these engines will be a practical source of household power when petroleum fuels are either cost prohibitive or in limited supply, or in off grid applications.

For this reason, and for hobby as well, I am determined to develop a relatively easy to construct, wood fired Stirling engine that is reliably capable of at least 1000w continuous power output. I will use this thread to document my initial tests and small scale build processes. As a forewarning, I am not mathematically inclined and will rely on real world testing results to guide my design. Having access to a manual lathe, CNC mill and 3d printer I should be able to see this out to a working model.

I have considered all three types of Stirling engine, and I believe the Gama type to be easiest to construct, as well as capable of the highest power output at low RPM, which I believe is paramount to reliable operation. Of course if I find otherwise , I will pursue another type. Fundamentally, my testing and design will focus on what I believe is most critical for maximum power.

#1: Efficient and rapid transfer and removal of heat from the working gas
#2: Thermal separation of hot and cold sides
#3: Precise control of the displacer piston

In order to extract maximum power, it seems to me that the displacer piston must be controlled by either a camshaft or an electronically timed solenoid valve to allow proper timing and dwell. I think much testing needs to be done on the hot and cold sinks as well. I have a few ideas in mind already.