Compressed air engine

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
Chriske

Compressed air engine

Post by Chriske »

Hi guys,

I'dd like to start a new project next schoolyear (I'm a teacher)
Purpose is to run an air engine, which will spin an alternator(of some
kind) which will feed an electric motor. These motors will be used to
drive a cart capable transporting one person. I'm not planning to make a
speedy machine, it just has to move at a slow rate, that's all.
It'll be an integrated project. I will do the mechanics together with my
pupils, another colleague with his pupils will do the welding and a thirth
will take care of the electronic parts.

Question is this : will a air engine like this one will generate enough power to keep an alternator in motion...?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vcaFWg-F ... 7384E2920D
Ok, I understand I have to build this thing a bit larger, but how far would I have to go. How big should the engine be..?

Thanks

Chris
Mijn thuis is waar mijn draaibank staat...
Ian S C

Re: Compressed air engine

Post by Ian S C »

Hi Chris, for a start your going to need a good bit of power at the crankshaft, because by the time it reaches the wheels via a generator to an electric motor, you might have lost about 50%, could you not use a direct drive, or are you going to run the electric motor off a battery, and use the motor as a charger? Ian S C
Ferraccio

Post by Ferraccio »

This is the forum of Stirling engine, that is a particular closed cycle heat engine.
You speak about a compressed air engine (so is the engine in the video).
Is a completely different matter.
However, my opinion:
I suppose that all (reservoir of compressed air, compressed air motor, alternator or DC generator, electrical motor) are on the car.
The main loss in energy are in compressed air (pneumatic) motor, and mechanic system (gears) to the wheels, expecially if belts, more good are bicycle chains.